Skip to main content


Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson

(1832- 1910)

Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson was a Norwegian writer. In 1903 he received the Nobel Prize in Literature, becoming the first Norwegian Nobel laureate. Bjørnson is considered to be one of The Four Greats (De Fire Store) among Norwegian writers, the others being Henrik Ibsen, Jonas Lie, and Alexander Kielland. Bjørnson is also celebrated for his lyrics to the Norwegian National Anthem, "Ja, vi elsker dette landet".