Skip to main content



Ach Lieb, ich muß nun scheiden (1889) Op. 21 no.3

Ach Lieb, ich muß nun scheiden

Ach Lieb, ich muß nun scheiden, gehn über Berg und Thal,
Die Erlen und die Weiden, die weinen allzumal.
Sie sahn so oft uns wandern zusammen an Baches Rand,
Das Eine ohn’ den Andern geht über ihren Verstand.
Die Erlen und die Weiden vor Schmerz in Thränen stehn,
Nun denket, wie uns beiden erst muß zu Herzen gehn!—

Ah, my love, I must now leave

Ah, my love, I must now leave, go over hill and dale,
The alders and willows join together in weeping
So often they saw us stroll together by the brook,
To see one without the other passes their understanding.
The alders and willows weep tears of grief,
Just think of the heartfelt sorrow we must both suffer.
Translation © Richard Stokes, author of The Book of Lieder (Faber, 2005)

If you would like to use our texts and translations, please click here for more information.


Richard Georg Strauss was a German composer of the late Romantic and early modern eras. He is particularly well-known for his operas, Lieder, and tone poems. 

Read more here.

See Full Entry


Felix Dahn was a German law professor, author, poet and historian.

See Full Entry

Sorry, no further description available.

Mailing List