Skip to main content



Der Ewigkeit saphirnes Haus (from Laß, Fürstin, laß noch einen Strahl) (1727) BWV 198

Der Ewigkeit saphirnes Haus (from Laß, Fürstin, laß noch einen Strahl)

Der Ewigkeit saphirnes Haus
Zieht, Fürstin, deine heitern Blicke
Von unsrer Niedrigkeit zurücke
Und tilgt der Erden Dreckbild aus.
Ein starker Glanz von hundert Sonnen,
Der unsern Tag zur Mitternacht
Und unsre Sonne finster macht,
Hat dein verklärtes Haupt umsponnen.

The sapphire house of eternity

The sapphire house of eternity,
O Princess, draws from our humble state
Your cheerful glances
And obliterates earth’s delusion.
A brilliant glow of a hundred suns,
Which turns our day into midnight
And darkens our sun,
Has surrounded your transfigured head.

If you would like to use our texts and translations, please click here for more information.


Johann Sebasian Bach (31 March [O.S. 21 March] 1685 – 28 July 1750) was a German composer and musician of the Boroque period. He enriched established German styles through his skill in counterpoint, harmonic and motivic organisation, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France. Bach's compositions include the Brandenburg concertos, th Goldburg Variations, the Mass in B minor, two Passions, and over three hundred cantatas of which around two hundred survive. His music is revered for its technical command, artistic beauty, and intellectual depth.

Bach's abilities as an organist were highly respected during his lifetime, although he was not widely recognised as a great composer until a revival of interest in and performances of his music in the first half of the 19th century. He is now generally regarded as one of the greatest composers of all time.

Read more here:

See Full Entry

Sorry, no further description available.

Mailing List